Skip to content

Birthday Candles

February 23, 2011

Hello and happy Wednesday! Wednesday came so quickly this week with Monday being a holiday. You know I truly think we should have a 4 day work week with a three day weekend. That would be awesome. The project for today is a birthday pocket card. This makes the perfect card for slipping some money or a gift card into.

Step 1: Start with a 4 x 12 piece of cardstock.
Step 2: Score at 4 and 8
Step 3: Score the center panel on the diagonal from the upper left corner to the lower right corner.
Step 4: Fold up the piece so it makes a pocket that attaches to the back panel. No adhesive is needed to secure the pocket, you can use two brads to do the job.

After the pocket was created I attached it to a scallop square I made using the Big Shot Die-cutting Machine.

We made this card last week at my Stamp Club. The card below was made a year ago, because of this, I need you to use your imagination with the colors. Unfortunately one of my all time favorite colors, Taken with Teal is retired. I am still heartbroken over this. Even though you won’t be able to case this card exactly (unless you already have everything), it may give you great inspiration to create your own lovely birthday pocket card.

Happy Birthday Supplies

Stamp: Bring on the Cake
Paper: Rich Razzleberry, Tempting Turquiose, Confetti White, Brights Print Pack DSP, Daffodil Delight, Old Olive
Ink: Stazon Black, VersaMarker
Accessories: Two-Step Bird Punch, Daffodil Delight 1/8 Taffeta, Scallop Square Die, Silver Brads

An Many More Supplies

Stamp: Party Hearty
Paper: Old Olive, Pumpkin Pie, Taken with Teal (retired), Confetti White, Chocolate Chip, So Saffron
Ink: VersaMark Pad, Taken with Teal, Chocolate Chip
Accessories: Mat Pack, 1-3/8 Circle Punch, Striped Grosgrain (retired), Big Bold Cupcakes Die, Scallop Square Die, Silver Brads

Hope today’s project inspires you to celebrate someone special!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 5:56 am

    Absolutely adorable cards as usual! Thanks for sharing the directions!

  2. Amber Rohal permalink
    February 23, 2011 7:05 am

    Jessica this card is EXACTLY what I have been looking for! I’ve been trying to find a gift card holder that looks amazing and this is it!! Bookmarked this as a FAVORITE!! Keep up the excellent work!

  3. February 23, 2011 7:25 am

    Love both of these cards!

  4. February 23, 2011 7:57 pm

    OOOOOh. I love both these cards!! Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

  5. February 24, 2011 8:19 pm

    Jessica, I love your projects!! I’m giving you the Stylish Blogger Award. Visit my blog for details: http://createnstamp.blogspot.com/2011/02/i-feel-loved.html

  6. Diane L permalink
    February 25, 2011 5:12 am

    Oh that is so genius! I love it! TFS!

  7. Judi Harms permalink
    February 25, 2011 5:49 pm

    I love these cards!! I kinda stumbled on your blog and I’m glad I did.
    I CASEd your candle card for my granddaughter’s card. Thanks for the idea. You do good work.

  8. February 26, 2011 1:27 am

    I loved your cards. Thank you for the directions too.

Leave a Reply

