Skip to content

Friendship Album

February 12, 2011

Hello all, happy Saturday! It is such a beautiful day today at my house. I love days like this. Sorry for the absence, I’ve been really busy this week. I had to classes back to back two nights and I’ve had barely anytime for myself, let alone time to blog.

The project I have for you today is one of my favorite things I’ve ever made. So much love went into making this album. I taught a class this past Spring that featured this friendship book. The book is decorated with a mixture of die cut flowers from Blossom Party and Birds & Blooms and My Digital Studio printouts. I created all of the text graphics and used the “designer series paper” in My Digital Studio (MDS). One of my favorite things about MDS, is that even though a paper is retired, if it is in MDS you can still print it out and use it on projects. And you’re not limited to how many sheets come in the pack or only liking a few of the designs. MDS has so many benefits that I just love. In the near future I will write a post that talks in-depth about MDS features.

The album is my original design, although there are many albums out there that I have drawn inspiration from. The overall dimension of the album is 6 tall x 9.5 wide.

When you open the book, this is the first page you see. On the inside cover, you can barely see it to the left, is a pocket. My plan for that is to have a tag for each of my girlfriends that are featured here. The tag will tell how long we’ve been friends and a favorite memory. I’m still working on those.

If I were to make this book again, I wold change the closure. Currently, it ties shut. There are Jumbo Eyelets on the flap that gets ribbon through it and ties into a bow on the front. Instead, I would still use the Jumbo Eyelets, but I would tie the bow onto the flap and Velcro the flap closed. That way, you wouldn’t have to untie it every time.

I hope you have enjoyed my Friendship Album and I hope it inspires you to make one to feature someone special!

Have a great day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2011 1:47 pm

    This is gorgeous! Love the colours!

  2. natasha permalink
    February 14, 2011 7:52 am

    BEAUTIFUL! would yoube willing to shre the tutorial with me?

  3. February 15, 2011 7:25 pm

    I would love to know if the tutorial can be shared…this is awesome! Makes me want MDS even more than I already did. 🙂

Leave a Reply

