Skip to content

Watercoloring Made Easy

December 22, 2010

Hello all and happy Wednesday! I love Wednesdays, it means that half the work week is over and the weekend is near. I just have a quick post today. These are two cards I made using two different watercoloring techniques.

The first card is a project I taught in one of my Stamp Club meetings a couple months ago, the flowers are colored using a Classic Ink Pad and an H2O Pen. Make sure that anytime you are coloring an image, whether it be with markers, H2O Pens or Blender Pens, always stamp your image in Stazon Ink. This will prevent your stamped image from bleeding into your coloring. For the first technique, all you need to do is make sure there is ink in the lid of the ink pad case and use your H2O Pen to pick it up and apply it to the areas of image you want to color. I always start with a subtle layer of color over the entire image and darken the areas I want to shade as I go. It’s more forgiving to start light and do dark, than to go too dark in the beginning. When we made the card, I didn’t have a Pear Pizzazz Classic Ink Pad yet, so I used my marker and colored on some wax paper, then lifted the ink with the H2O Pen from that.

With this next card I used a different watercoloring technique. I started with my marker in one hand and my Blender Pen opened and ready in the other hand. I put color with the marker in the areas I wanted to be the darkest, then used the Blender Pen to pull it into the rest of the image. This technique works very well, but you must be quick… no lolly gagging!

Because I Care Card Supplies

Stamps: Growing Green, Because I Care (Hostess)
Paper: Early Espresso, Daffodil Delight, Peach Parfait, Pear Pizzazz, Very Vanilla, Watercolor Paper
Ink: Early Espresso, Daffodil Delight, Peach parfait, Pear Pizzazz, Stazon
Accessories: Daffodil Delight 1/8 Taffeta Ribbon, Sponge Dauber, H2O Pen

Just For You Card Supplies

Stamps: Growing Green, Just Believe
Paper: Early Espresso, Pink Pirouette, Cherry Cobbler, Old Olive, Watercolor Paper
Ink: Early Espresso, Cherry Cobbler, Old Olive
Accessories: Blender Pens, Old Olive 1/4 Grosgrain Ribbon, Sponge Dauber

 

All supplies can be purchased at my Stampin’ Up! website.

Thanks for visiting today!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 19, 2011 6:49 am

    Jessica, these cards are GORGEOUS! I’m so glad I found your site! I doing watercoloring this month with my club ladies and the Growing Green set is being featured! You’ve inspired me–I love every single one of your cards. 🙂

Leave a Reply

