Skip to content

Can’t wait til Spring!

December 21, 2010

I love everything about the Springtime, especially the colors of flowers that bloom all around us. I am ready to pull out those vibrant, lively colors and start making some fun and happy projects. I am a paper hoarder and rarely use the designer series paper I purchase. It’s just too pretty to take out of the package for any other reason than to admire. Since the release of the current Idea Book & Catalog in July I have been so good about making at least one sample that features the dsp (designer series paper) that I purchase. I have two cards to share with you today, both use at least a bit of dsp. The first card was so fun, I just took strips of Pawsitively Prints II designer series paper and glued them across a 4-1/4 square card. I made a really fun paper flower using the Fancy Flower Punch, you just need three flowers punched from Poppy Parade. Crumple them really well, spritz them with the Poppy Parade marker using the Spritzer Tool and glue them together, offsetting each layer. To finish the flower, I added an Old Olive button to the center. The finished flower is set on top of a Decorative Label Punch that I cut in half to make it look longer. The card is then finished with some ribbon and a couple pearls.

The next card uses the Aviary stamp set. I knew the moment I saw this stamp set that I had to have it. It is so different from the usual floral/naturistic sets. The flower on this card is made using two 1-1/4 inch Circles and one 1 inch Circle. The back layer is crumpled and inked on the edges, while the other two are cut around the edges to make them look slightly wavy. They were then crumpled and inked on the edges as well. Then I layered them and glued them together. I have found that when making paper flowers a liquid glue works best. I use the Multi-Purpose Liquid Glue that you can buy from Stampin’ Up.

Poppy Parade Flower Card Supplies

Paper: Pawsitively Prints II Designer Series Paper, Pear Pizzazz
Ink: Poppy Parade Marker, Tempting Turquoise
Accessories: Fancy Flower Punch, Decorative Label Punch, Basic Pearls, Daffodil Delight 1/8 Taffeta Ribbon, Poppy Parade Stitched Poly Twill Ribbon, Brights Buttons, Color Spritzer Tool, Sponge Daubers

Thinking of You Card Supplies

Stamps: Aviary, Curly Cute
Paper: Early Espresso, Pacific Point, Pumpkin Pie, Pumpkin Pie Patterns Designer Series Paper, Pacific Point Patterns Designer Series Paper, Whisper White
Ink: Early Espresso, Pacific Point, Pumpkin Pie
Accessories: Scallop Edge Border Punch, 1-1/4 Circle Punch, 1 inch Circle Punch, Itty Bitty Shapes Circle Punch, Corner Rounder, Silver Brads, Pear Pizzazz Stitched Poly Twill Ribbon

All supplies can be purchased at my Stampin’ Up! website.

Thank you for checking out my blog. Happy Stamping!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Claire Poole permalink
    December 21, 2010 3:47 pm

    Jessica – love the “article” but the picture of the first card did not come thru. 😦

  2. Missy permalink
    January 8, 2011 4:47 am

    I can see both cards on my end! WOW! Both are awesome! I just love how you describe your cards PLUS the instructions below it! I have already fell in love with your blog! I can’t wait to see what other awesome creations you come up with! GREAT BLOG!!!

Leave a Reply

